progeCAD Professional manual The low-cost alternative to AutoCAD

Index



Do you want to try progeCAD Professional?
Download the trial: you can try the product, without any limit, for 30 days!

A manual page a day... Click here to see the manual table of contents.

Working with drawings

Saving your drawing

When you save a drawing, your work is saved in a drawing (.dwg) file.

After you have saved your drawing for the first time, you can save it with a new name. In addition to drawing (.dwg) files, you can also save a drawing in a Drawing Exchange Format (.dxf) file or a drawing template (.dwt) file.

If you created your drawing using a template, saving the drawing does not alter the original template.

If you need an added level of security for your drawing files, you can save the drawing with a password so only you and those who know the password can open the drawing.

Before proceeding to the drawing saving you can remove not used items in the drawing as blocks, layers, line types, text styles and dimension style. Deleting these items you can significantly reduce the file size.

To purge the items not used in the drawing
  1. Do one of the following:
  2. Choose File > Utility > Purge.
  3. Type purge and then press Enter.
  4.  
  1. Using the option buttons above the Items List window, you choose if you want to display the items that you can purge (items not used) or if you want to display those that you cannot purge.
    In the Item List area you can view the items that can be purged divided into categories. The plus symbol next to group names indicates that there are objects you can purge.
    Linetypes definitions are purged only from the current drawing, the definition in the file icad.lin remains unchanged.
    If you mark the check box Confirm each item to be purged, you will be asked to confirm before purging the items.
  2. Purge nested items: removes all the unused named objects from the drawing even if they are contained within or referenced by other unused named objects. The Confirm Purge dialog box is displayed and you can cancel or confirm the items to be purged.
  3. Nested Blocks: for example, you create a block from a circle and insert two instances of this block in the drawing. Next, you create a new block that consists of two previous circle blocks: in this way you will have a nested block in your drawing. Marking the check box Purge nested items you can purge in one session even nested blocks. It is recommended to leave active the position Confirm each item to be purged in order to be able to verify the blocks to be purged.
  4. Purge: purges the selected items.
  5. Purge All: purges all the unused items.
  6. Note: If you want to purge objects by means of the command line without using the command dialog box, type -purge and then press Enter.
  1.